[]
[]

The House at Tyneford

Solomons, Natasha (Book - 2011 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The House at Tyneford
Print

Item Details

It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau realizes her only means of escape is to advertise her services as a domestic servant in England. Fate brings her ad to the attention of Christopher Rivers, handsome scion of the aristocratic Rivers family and master of Tyneford. An anxious Elise arrives at Tyneford and immediately falls under its spell. When Christopher's young son, Kit, returns home, the two strike up an unlikely friendship that will change Tyneford--and Elise--forever.
Authors: Solomons, Natasha
Uniform Title: Novel in the viola
Title: The house at Tyneford
Publisher: New York : Plume, c2011.
Characteristics: 359 p. :,music ;,21 cm.
Notes: Originally published as: Novel in the viola. London : Sceptre, 2011.
Summary: It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau realizes her only means of escape is to advertise her services as a domestic servant in England. Fate brings her ad to the attention of Christopher Rivers, handsome scion of the aristocratic Rivers family and master of Tyneford. An anxious Elise arrives at Tyneford and immediately falls under its spell. When Christopher's young son, Kit, returns home, the two strike up an unlikely friendship that will change Tyneford--and Elise--forever.
ISBN: 9780452297647
0452297648
Statement of Responsibility: Natasha Solomons
Subject Headings: Household employees Fiction. Immigrants Fiction. Jews England Fiction. Aristocracy (Social class) England Fiction. Great Britain History George VI, 1936-1952 Fiction. England Social life and customs Fiction.
Genre/Form: Domestic fiction.
Historical fiction.
Topical Term: Household employees
Immigrants
Jews
Aristocracy (Social class)
LCCN: 2011029714
MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Sep 06, 2014
  • soblessed59 rated this: 0.5 stars out of 5.

I could not bear to read any longer[pg 93] after the unlikeable heroine Elise meets the immature/juvenile acting hero Kit[after her tirade of spewing filthy profanities into the air in frustration].

I found this book totally boring and unengaging,with characters that didn't interest me in the least,nor did I care for the heroine or any of her family,who without any explanation send her off alone to England while they all go to America to escape Austria at the start of WW 2!

I just do not like her or the hero enough to even care to read anymore about them!

May 19, 2014
  • greenacres rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A story of love, tragedy and moving forward.

Sep 24, 2013
  • calvoer rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

Set during WWII in England, this novel is a patchwork quilt of a book, full of mismatched scenes of cloying, overwrought melodrama. Or, you could describe it as a hash made out of leftovers from “Downton Abbey”, “Upstairs Downstairs, ”Cinderella,” and a bunch of others. It ends with “Rebecca” (did I give away too much?) It certainly covers a lot of territory. At times I was tempted to think the author meant it as a parody of Ian McEwan novels. Even if the butler served it in the finest china, it would not be my cup of tea.

Aug 14, 2013
  • mom2two08 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Enjoyed reading this immensely. The type of story where once you finish the last page you still hold the characters dear to your heart. The setting was great and brought the reader into the lifestyle of house servants and the upper class.

Apr 25, 2013
  • ready2read rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

It is 1938 and Vienna is a dangerous place to live for Jewish families. Elise's family are very clever and accomplished, and as they wait for visas to arrive from countries wishing to benefit from their various gifts and talents, the family urges 19- year- old Elise to apply for a domestic servant visa. She has been well educated but she does not have the academic or musical abilities of the rest of her family. She is offered a job as a maid in an English Manor so she travels to England expecting she will be with her family again soon. Fans of Downton Abbey will appreciate the "upstairs - downstairs "aspect of this book especially with a heroine that doesn't really belong in either category. This is a very emotional story as all the characters prepare for war. Have your hankies ready.

Feb 11, 2013
  • bloom rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A beautifully written novel. The description of life by the seaside made me feel as though I were there. A bittersweet love story in a time of war. Loved it!

Jan 15, 2013
  • beachcat2 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I loved this book - read it slowly to savour it. Great descriptions of the English countryside, the manor house, the way of life which was in its last years. I felt so sad for Elise/Alice... and yes, I love Downton Abbey!

Jan 05, 2013
  • gracindaisy rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A young Jewish woman escapes Vienna in 1938 to enter domestic service in England where she falls in love with her new home & the people who live there. Downton Abbey fans will love this story.

Nov 11, 2012
  • cheadlebeagle rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I really enjoyed this book and though the ending was a little predictable it showed an interesting slice of history and was well written.

Terrific story of a young refugee who flees from the horrors of Nazi Vienna to work as a housemaid at an English country estate. For fans of Helen Humphreys' The Lost Garden and Kate Morton's Distant Hours and The House at Riverton.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at LNK

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version red_eye (red_eye) Last updated 2014/09/09 09:50